pation in commercial treaties of the United Kingdom by Canadian Acts of Parliament; (3) Canadian Conventions of Commerce or Trade Agreements; (4) Exchange of Notes respecting reciprocal tariff concessions; (5) British preferential rates granted by the Tariff Act; (6) power of extending, by Orders in Council, British preferential or lower rates, intermediate rates, or other reduced duties as compensation for concessions received; (7) authority to impose a surtax on goods from a foreign country whose tariff discriminates against Canadian goods.

EMPIRE COUNTRIES

Empire Preferences.- The Tariff Act assented to June 13, 1898, by which Canada replaced the Reciprocal Tariff of the year before by a purely British Preferential Tariff, specifically granted the benefit of the new preferential duties to the United Kingdom, Bermuda, British West Indies, and British Guiana. A provision whereby the benefit could be extended to any British possession whose tariff was equally favourable to Canada was at once invoked to give the preferences to British India, Ceylon, Straits Settlements, and New South Wales. In 1904 these preferences were extended to New Zealand, to the colonies now comprising the Union of South Africa, and to Southern Rhodesia, all of which, about that time, had granted newly introduced preferences to Canada. All these countries, except New South Wales, which had ceased to be a separate customs area, were named in the Tariff Act of Apr. 12, 1907 (still in force, in amended form), as being entitled to British preferential rates.

The British preference margin, which had been increased in 1900 from one-quarter to one-third, remained at approximately one-third in the 1907 revision, but has since been much varied and widened. The 1907 Tariff contains three columns-British Preferential, Intermediate, and General. Sect. 4 of the Tariff Act empowers the Governor in Council to extend British preferential rates, intermediate rates in whole or in part, or most-favoured-foreign-nation treatment to any part of the Empire or British mandated territories. British preference has been extended to many new areas under Sect. 4. (See p. 520 of the 1934-35 Year Book.) The year 1937 witnessed its further extension (Order in Council Sept. 29, 1937) to Malta, Gilbert and Ellice Islands, British Solomon Islands Protectorate, Nauru, Papua, and Norfolk Island. The Intermediate Tariff was extended to Hong Kong as from Feb. 4, 1933. Orders in Council were passed that accorded most-favoured-foreign-nation treatment to the United Kingdom and the Union of South Africa on July 19, 1935; to Australia and New Zealand on Aug. 21, 1935; to the British West Indies on Oct. 20, 1936; to all the non-self-governing British colonies and protectorates, Palestine, Tanganyika territory, and the territories of Togoland and Cameroons under British Mandate on Sept. 29, 1937. Ireland (Eire) is similarly favoured because of the fact that her Trade Agreement with Canada guarantees to her duties as low as apply to the United Kingdom.

Either by means of the Tariff Act or Trade Agreements with the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Union of South Africa, and British West Indies, Canada now accords her British Preferential Tariff, or lower rates, to almost the whole Empire, including British protectorates and mandated territories. In addition, the products of the Newfoundland fisheries are declared by Sect. 8 of the Tariff Act to be free of customs duty until otherwise determined by Order in Council.

Reciprocal concessions in Empire markets are widespread. Nearly all Canadian products are given tariff preferences when entering Great Britain and Northern